Fahrenheit 451

“Books were only one type of receptacle where we stored a lot of things we were afraid to forget. There is nothing magical about them. The magic is only in what books say, how they stitched the patches of the universe together into one garment for us.”

~Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury, page 83.

My older sister tells me that I don’t read books; I flirt with them. I get half way into them and then go, “Oh, another preety book,” and off I go to see what that one has to tell me. (Its kind of like Kirk in a couple scenes in the new Star Trek).

I have to say its true. But my excuse? Hey, I’m a writer. I try to read with as much variety as possible. But true, I should actually finish books.

I’m still in the middle of Fahrenheit 541, but I have to say, I think I’ll be sticking with Ray Bradbury for a while. This book is really interesting. And I especially liked the quote above.

Just think: the magic is all in what I say.

Leave a Reply

