I think my mom finally learned how to get my attention in Geometry class. Yesterday, in class, she had a handout titled The Raven and had me read to the class the first two stanzas of Poe’s famous poem that I have worshiped. Then, below, was a different version of The Raven.

Someone had taken the ideas from Poe’s poem and rewritten it … . so that the number of letters in each word represented a digit of pi.

Poe, E.
      Near a Raven

Midnights so dreary, tired and weary.
    Silently pondering volumes extolling all by-now obsolete lore.
During my rather long nap – the weirdest tap!
    An ominous vibrating sound disturbing my chamber’s antedoor.
        “This”, I whispered quietly, “I ignore”.

Starting with the title, the first word has three letters. 3. Then one letter. 3.1 the “near” has four 3.14.

You can see what he did. The whole poem includes 740 digits of pi.

Part of me admires you, Mike Keith, this is very hard to do.

But part of me thinks it ruins the perfect image that Poe gives us.

Leave a Reply

