The Second Stage

Sometime last week, I finished the first draft of True Identity. (Its sad that I can’t remember what day it was. Oh, well). I now have a full, awful, and amazingly rough manuscript around 28,000 words long.

I’m glad the drafting is over. I always find it to be one of the hardest parts.

Now comes the fun (though sometimes not too so fun) part.

Editing.

Its one of the most rewarding parts of writing. Its when you get to take a big lump of unintelligible words, massed together into sentences and messy plots, and make something beautiful out of it. You cut away the bad parts. You re-write lots of prose. Then you smooth everything out, and begin polishing it into a beautiful masterpiece, one sentence at a time.

Its hard work.

But rewarding as well.

I love this quote byJames Michener:

“I’m not a very good writer, but I’m an excellent rewriter.”

I am currently doing a quit run-by edit just to delete some unneeded passages and add a couple key things. Then, I will be handing the whole kit-and-kaboodle off to my first editor (my older sister). In the meantime, I will try to forget I ever wrote the novel (what novel?) in an attempt to gain some perspective.

Maybe in that time, I’ll come up with my next project.

One thought on “The Second Stage

  1. I am so proud of you my dear friend! I am still a little bit in shock that you are going to be a junior next semester!

Leave a Reply

