Concertmaster

To be honest, I’ve been avoiding writing this blog post. I love blogging in general, but I’ve sat down several times now to write about this past week and not known how or where to start. Plus, it’s been a hectic week and I haven’t had much time to sit down and write.

On Saturday, I had my Orchestra audition. After a conversation my conductor had had with me in the spring, I wasn’t terribly surprised when, after my audition, he told me that I should expect a call from him on Sunday. The only person who gets a call on the day after the audition is the concertmaster. However, I was not completely convinced that I wanted to accept the position. After all, I knew that it would require a lot of hard work and that it would put a lot of pressure on me. I wasn’t sure I wanted to compromise my writing time. However, after a lot of thinking and praying, I finally reached the conclusion that perhaps God wanted to teach me something through the concertmaster experience, something I wouldn’t necessarily choose on my own.

Then Sunday night came. Every time the phone rung, a strange sense of dread ran through me. I went to bed at eleven and there still hadn’t been a call. But I didn’t think too much of it. Likely, auditions had run late. The website even confirmed this by saying that the list of members who had made the cut would be posted the next day.

Monday came and went. It was one of the most stressful days I have gone through in a long time. Not only was I having second thoughts about accepting the position, but now I hadn’t even gotten a call. The seat itself didn’t matter to me. I just hated the suspense. I had been told one thing and now…I was hanging without knowing what was going on. It drove me nuts. Monday night I barely survived my World Views class.

Tuesday morning I got the call. Mixed with a sense of dread, I felt pure relief—I was just so glad to know.

Last night I had my first orchestra rehearsal of the year. And my first as concertmaster. I survived the sight reading and am very glad to have one of my wonderful friends as my stand partner.

I’m a little apprehensive about this coming year, what with the academic side of things, music, and, of course, writing. But, to be completely honest, I’m excited.

 

One thought on “Concertmaster

Leave a Reply

