A Choice in the Dentist Chair

Ah, how I have missed my blog this last week and a half. There have been so many times that I have gotten on the internet for a brief thirty minutes here and there and hovered my mouse over the link to my blog, torn between taking the time to post or continuing the never-ending work on school.

There was no gradual easing into the hecticity of the semester. With studying for the SAT that I’m taking the 28th, trying to get through the first weeks of learning Concertmaster solos for EYSO, and the first week of mind-boggling Trigonometry, and frantically trying to finish my novel outline by February, I feel more overwhelmed and hectic than I did last fall. I’m just holding tight until the end of January, when I hope some of my pressures (at least the stress of the SAT) will lighten up.

Speaking of holding tight, I came across a C.S. Lewis quote tonight that really made me stop and think.

“It doesn’t really matter whether you grip the arms of the dentist’s chair or let your hands lie in your lap. The drill drills on.” 

Now, obviously, I don’t think the dentist element is the point. When translated into everyday life, its a powerful message. Life is loud, busy, and painful at times (like the dentist’s drill). But there’s nothing you can do to stop life. You can cower behind a facade of gloominess and a moody spirit, but life will still trudge on. You can kick and scream and make the experience worse for yourself and those around you.

OR.

You can relax. You can take a quiet moment to rejoice, to thank God for a gift He has given you. You can be quiet in your soul and quietly endure the painful drilling of life.

We all have the ability and the responsibility to chose one of these two possibilities. Will we resist something that we can’t change, let stress and worry wear us down into grouchy, miserable people? Or will we take a deep breath and let go of something that we can’t change?

Our choice will dictate how we live our lives and the people that we will be.

 

2 thoughts on “A Choice in the Dentist Chair

Leave a Reply

