The Writer’s Manifesto

My Dad introduced me to Jeff Goins’ blog when he sent me this post: http://us1.forward-to-friend.com/forward/show?u=092fb42c28ba0b66d4d7d0105&id=222e7fa182

I’ve been hooked on this blog since then. {I have a bad habit of getting sucked into writing blogs.} And I love what I’ve read. As someone who is frustrated with her writing, stuck in the middle of a draft, and trying vainly to scrounge up a few minutes a day to write anything at all, I was totally invigorated and refreshed by the encouragement I found, especially in this:

http://goinswriter.com/writers-manifesto/40/

Jeff Goins wrote a short eBook, the Writer’s Manifesto, “about getting back to the heart of writing”. This succinct challenge to writers nearly brought tears to my eyes. It voiced so many things I’ve been thinking about and struggling with. It breathed new hope and life into the writerly part of my heart.

“Real writers don’t write for recognition. They don’t do it for fame, accolades, or notoriety. They do it because they cannot not write. By their gifts and under the authority of a higher calling, they are compelled to create. To wonder. To dream. To express. Real writers wake up every morning with something to say. Even if the words have yet to come…

 

“It’s time. To dream boldly and imagine impossibilities. To conjure up words and phrases the world is waiting to hear. To turn off email and stop checking blog stats. To stop worrying. And just write. It’s time to begin.” 

 

 

Leave a Reply

