One Page

In the last couple months, I’ve written a fraction of what I had hoped to write.

In January, I had plans to finish the first draft of my current book by my brother’s wedding, so that I could take a break and get started with the editing process by the end of April. The wedding is in two weeks. But I’m hardly even half way through my draft.

A couple of weeks ago, I became so frustrated with my draft that I allowed my schedule of school, violin, working out, and rehearsal dinner prep to crowd out any attempts to write. The thought of sitting down and struggling to pound out two thousand or even one thousand words intimidated me so much that I didn’t bother trying. And that continued until last weekend.

For the first time in several weeks, I realized how much I missed writing.

Writing is part of who I am. Its a gift. A calling. Not writing…is hard. Even harder than writing itself.

With the new urge to write, I started to realize something: I might not have the time in my day to sit down and type for two hours. But I can’t fight that fact. It’s a stage. God has given me my workload and my schedule, blessed me with busy seasons of life. What I can do is be faithful with the time I do have. Just because I don’t have two hours to write, doesn’t mean I should wait until I do.

Monday, I gave myself a challenge: I would sit down every day this week and write one page. Just one page.

My inner editor argued that one page barely puts a dent in my draft. But it’s all the time I have right now. And seven pages a week is a whole lot better than none.

Since Monday, I’ve sat down and written one page every day. Every day this has gotten even easier. Today it was extremely easy to pound out that page.

The truth in this article by Jeff Goins rung true to me this week. For weeks, I’ve been bemoaning my lack of writing time and motivation, looking forward to when my workload would allow me to type freely away. But reading this, it hit me–dreaming about a future time when I will have time to write is pointless. It’s the doing that counts.

“So, you’ve got dreams. Who cares?

The world doesn’t need your dreams; it needs your action. It needs your life to matter. So do you.”

One thought on “One Page

  1. Hey Amanda!

    You are right, it is so hard to write. There have been times when I have sat at my keyboard with fingers poised, only to write nothing. But, it is also hard not to write. Writing is kind of like music, it takes hard work. But it is also a place where you can let yourself go. It is kind of a love/hate relationship. Sometimes it is more hate then love, but God gives us trials so that we can grow. 🙂

    Anyway, you have been awarded the Versatile Blog Award! Here is the link: http://daughterofhim.blogspot.com/2012/04/i-guess-im-pretty-versatile.html

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. 🙂

    In Him,
    Kristin (from AC)

Leave a Reply

